Daufuskie Island Points of Interest
Silver Dew Pottery: Lancy Burn, along with his wife Emily, started Silver Dew Pottery about 15 years ago. Lancy’s grandfather, Pappy Burn, was an assistant lighthouse keeper at the Bloody Point Lighthouse. Growing up wandering the shores, forests and dirt roads of Daufuskie, Lancy was accruing an amazing collection of pottery shards and other native american artifacts. As he tells it, he and Emily were enjoying a walk along the beach when he reached down and picked up a glob of gray clay. Pinching and poking and forming it in his hand, he created a small pinch pot. After allowing it to air dry for a few days, they set it in the barbeque grill. Amazed to discover the result, they were inspired to make pottery on a regular basis. His collection of shards serves as inspiration for the designs they embellish their beautifully simple and wholly functional pottery with. The studio is testament to the Lancy and Emily’s connection with the island.
Iron Fish Gallery: Acclaimed folk artist and fishing enthusiast Chase Allen is playing with fire. Combining welding, blacksmithing and self-invented techniques, Chase designs and creates unique metal fish and aquatic sculptures that capture the beauty of true island life. His front porch is his gallery. His backyard is his studio. And his hand-forged, hand-signed aquatic designed sculptures are true collector's items.
Visitors and art collectors will find Chase’s gallery, The Iron Fish Gallery & Studio, along a secluded dirt road in a maritime forest. At this charming Daufuskie landmark, visitors can watch the self-taught artist at work and choose their own object d’art to take home. If Chase is gone fishing, payment goes in the "honor box" on the veranda of his historic Gullah cottage.
Daufuskie Gallery: “Fuskie island native, Miss Sarah Grant, lived in a neat little home along the banks of the New River for many of her 90 years. She served as the island’s midwife for nearly half of them. Today, her quaint cottage has been reborn into a craftsmens mecca and art gallery, featuring the work of artists who have been touched by the magic of Daufuskie. Nature is the inspiration for much of the work in the gallery. Proprietor, Jack Anderson renovated the cottage and opened its doors to visitors in 2006.
White School: During the era of reconstruction, white yeoman farmers come to Daufuskie Island to take advantage of low land prices. Familiar with the heat and humidity, the salty air and sandy soil, they eked out a living on this remote sea island. They purchased an acre of land - for $6.00 - and built the White School in 1913. Classes for the island’s white children were held in this one room school house from September to May for nearly 50 years. It closed in 1962, due in part to the absence of young white children on the island. Used as a post office, fire department and home, the building eventually fell into disrepair. Refurbished by volunteers, it housed the Little White School Library from 2002 (check date) until January 2009.
Church: Perhaps the most significant historic landmark on Daufuskie Island is the First Union African Baptist Church. Built in 1881 on land donated by the former plantation owner specifically for the young congregation to construct their own sanctuary. Largely unchanged since the 1880’s, the interior light fixtures were brought from England in the late 1880’s for installation in the island church.
Mary Field: School aged Gullah children attended classes in the Praise House until the early 1930’s when Mary Field was built. The cost of construction was about $600, most of which was collected by island Gullah who sold produce, oysters, shrimp and devil crab. The cost of labor was covered by the WPA. Mary Fields school opened in 1933. Southern author Pat Conroy taught a group of 18 gullah children during the 1969-70 academic year. His novel The Water is Wide is an account of his experience at the school. The school was naturally integrated in 1981. Classes continued at Mary Field until 1995, when the Daufuskie Island Elementary School was built.
Back to ABOUT DAUFUSKIE